Emory Creek CampgroundEmory Creek Campground is located on the banks of the Mighty Fraser (open May – October). The tent community “Emory City” was a central location during the 1858 gold rush as gold was first discovered at nearby Hill’s Bar. The campground is located near the Canadian Pacific Railway, so those not used to the train should remember their earplugs! (Emory Creek Campground)
Emory Bar RV Park/Hope River General StoreThe Hope River General Store is a gem in the Canyon as it boasts a restaurant with home-made fare and a store which has anything you might need. (Emory Bar RV Park and General Store)
Spirit Caves TrailDistance: 5km (round trip) Time: 3.5 hours. Extensive maintenance in 2014 has restored this stunning trail to its former glory. Hikers are rewarded at the top of this moderate hike with incredible views of the Fraser River snaking its way through the mountains towards Hope.
Yale Pioneer CemeteryThe Yale Pioneer Cemetery has graves dating back to 1858. The headstones provide an interesting look at life in Yale during the early days of the community. In addition, the views of the Fraser River are impressive from the site.
Yale Historic SiteOnce the biggest city north of San Francisco and west of Chicago (~30 000 people), Yale is now a small town which boasts an impressive Provincial and National Historic Site. Yale Historic Site is comprised of four attractions which are all within easy walking distance. The site is open from spring to fall. (Historic Yale) Note: Yale Historic Site is now closed for the season. It will re-open in spring 2017. - Creighton House: Creighton House (built in the 1870s) is the central location for the Yale Historic site as it houses the museum, archives, and gift shop. It is the first stop for visitors wanting to visit St. John the Divine or explore the ‘living history’ tents. For those wishing to learn more about Historic Yale, walking guides are available in the gift store. - St John the Divine: Consecrated in 1863 in an arguably futile attempt to “civilize the miners” who had flooded into Yale at the first rumour of gold. The church closed in 1976, but is now open for tours during the season. The original rafters, walls, and handmade nails can still be seen; however, only the stone foundation remains of the original rectory. - The Ward Tea House: Home of the Yale Historic Site’s tea house, Ward House was built in 1880 (after the original house – built in 1863 – burned down). Ward House is open for tours and light refreshments during the season. The house and grounds can also be rented for weddings, photo shoots, or other special events. - On Lee Property This includes an early shed structure, and views over early stone vaults on a neighbouring private property, that were used for safe-keeping and fire protection of valuables.
Gold PanningOn a stunning beach across from the Yale Historic Site sits one of the few public gold-panning reserves in the area. Prospective panners can get instruction at the Yale Historic Site before joining the hunt for the mother-lode in the Fraser River. A full range of gold panning supplies are available at Barry’s Trading Post.
Fraser River Raft ExpeditionsVisitors wishing to truly experience the power of the Mighty Fraser should look no further than a day-trip on the Fraser with Fraser River Raft Expeditions. Power rafts work their way from Boston Bar to Yale and hit some of the most impressive rapids on the river, including Hell’s Gate and Sailor’s Bar. (Fraser River Raft)
Historic Rest StopVisitors interested in the history of Yale and the Fraser Canyon should also stop at the rest area just west of Yale. From there, you will find views of town as well as historical signage and maps of the Fraser Canyon and Historic Yale.
Mt. Lincoln (Linky) TrailDistance: 5km (round trip) Time: 3.5 hours Mt. Lincoln (Linky) is not a trail for the faint-of-heart, but the views of Lady Franklin Rock and the Fraser Canyon are undeniably impressive. The steep trail is navigable in sections thanks to a series of ropes and cables. Best to save this hike for a sunny, dry day!
Alexandria Bridge Provincial ParkThe current Alexandria Bridge was built in 1926 as part of the Cariboo Wagon Road. Although no longer in use, visitors can still walk over the bridge. It is a short walk down from the rest area. This is one of few places where travellers can view the Canyon from near-river level and it is not to be missed!
Tikwalus Heritage TrailDistance: 12km (round trip) Time: 6 hours Tikwalus Heritage Trail has had a long and diverse history since the first Nlaka’pamux hunters and foragers traversed this section of the Canyon. Like many trails in the region, Tikwalus was converted into a Hudson’s Bay Company Brigade Trail in the years before the Cariboo Wagon Road made travel through the Canyon immeasurably easier. Today, Tikwalus Heritage Trail is a favourite in the region with a picnic area and campsite at the top, interpretive signs along the way, and many culturally modified trees (CMT) to see.
Hell’s Gate AirtramWhen First Nations guides first brought Simon Fraser down the Canyon in 1808, he exclaimed “we had to travel where no human being should venture, for surely we have encountered the gates of hell.” Where Nlaka’pamux traders and Simon Fraser used a series of ladders to traverse the Canyon, visitors can now travel over Hell’s Gate on an airtram. Riders are rewarded with amazing views of the steepest and narrowest section of the river along with an aerial view of the famous international fishways (which allow salmon to navigate the treacherous rapids). Hell’s Gate Airtram also includes a café, museum, gift shop, gold panning, and world-famous fudge factory. (Hell's Gate Airtram) Hell's Gate Airtram is now open for the season.
Tuckkwiowhum VillageTuckkwiowhum Village gives visitors the opportunity to explore Nlaka’pamux culture and participate in a variety of activities from drum making to wild herb harvesting to salmon preparation. Those looking for a longer getaway can stay in the stylized teepee campground or at the neighbouring Anderson Creek Campground. The historic site also has a museum and gift shop. (Tuckkwiowhum Village)
Francis Harrington ParkIn the heart of Boston Bar, visitors can stretch their legs at Francis Harrington Park. On display at the park is the refurbished aerial ferry (retired in 1985) that connected the communities of Boston Bar and North Bend for 45 years. Interpretive signage and picnic tables are also in the park.
Fat Jack’s Homestyle DinerA relatively new addition to the region’s dining options, Fat Jack’s Diner has quickly become a favourite in the area and has foodies visiting from across the province. Diners looking for creative, exciting, and unique takes on classic diner favourites will love this example of fine dining in the Canyon.
- Come & Play
- Shop & Dine
- Relax & Sleep
- Fix & Fuel
- Visitor Centre
- About AdvantageHOPE